Morph Suits and Scotch

These are the two things that dominated my Halloween experience this year. Yes, though I offered to help my son create a Minecraft costume, he decided to follow the example of one of his friends and buy a morph suit instead. He decided on white for some reason, which is fine as it shows up well in the dark while running around the streets.

As per our usual unspoken Halloween agreement, I met up with the parents of one of my son’s friends and started the party with Grey Goose vodka. The mixer available to me was peach flavored Fresca. I’m not too picky, so I slammed back a couple of these. The dad of this particular kid is an excellent host, and his job allows him travel to places where alcohol is much cheaper than it is in my state. He’s always well-stocked, and I greatly appreciate his hospitality. He offered me a glass of good scotch, which I accepted. It tasted horrible. I’m not a scotch drinker. It seems like an interesting hobby – drinking scotch – but it would be expensive, I think, for me to drink enough of it to actually start liking the stuff. A few of the peach vodkas and a white russian later, it was dark enough to get started.

Cups in hand, we shepherded the kids through the neighborhood, losing them several times, and re-acquiring them later. I enjoyed the conversation. We wandered around, critiquing the various house decorations and talking about inane BS of no particular importance. When our cups ran low, our host pulled out a bottle of wine and filled them up. By the time we got back to his house, the others were obviously wasted. I, on the other hand, have always possessed an alcohol tolerance beyond anyone else I have ever met (save one person I know of who actually guzzled an entire fifth of Bacardii 151 on a bet and survived to tell the tale). I’m not sure why I have such a high tolerance for alcohol – or any other chemical for that matter – but I’ve always found myself to be the last person standing when everyone else passes out. And I typically drink more than they do. Maybe it’s all the practice I’ve had. Or maybe it’s my hyperactive metabolism.

In any case, when it was over, I summoned my child and we headed back to the house. Trick or Treating seemed to end earlier than I expected. By 9PM it was over, and we still had quite a bit of candy that hadn’t been given out. I resisted eating it, knowing what it would do to me. My son’s bag weighed in at 9 pounds – not a bad haul, but I’ve seen him do better. My wife retired early, so I watched a bit of news and then hit the rack myself.

The hangover isn’t that bad. It usually isn’t for me. I imagine the other feel like complete shit right now. Overall, it was a fun Halloween. I can’t say I saw any costumes that really blew me away or anything. I did see one fiber-optic pumpkin that I thought was really cool. And I do appreciate the mechanical flying bats one house has strung up in their entry. There were quite a few morph suited kids. Spiderman seemed to be a favorite among the grade school set, and there were the usual collection of faeries and witches.

6 Responses

  1. It was freezing last night so instead of being on the porch I hung out in the garage

    • It was pouring here, but warm. And then, just as we went out, the rain stopped for several hours. It was perfect! It started pouring again right after we finished.

  2. I pretty much gave up drinking in college after discovering that I get miserably ill long before I get happily high (I have to take the word of others that such a state even exists). Sounds like you’re doing your civic duty and taking care of my share of the booze. Thank you.

    • You’re welcome.

  3. Nice! I had my share of wine last night and had a dull headache all day. Nothing too serious though. I think those morph costumes are pretty cool. Last year we were in a neighborhood and there was this group of about 10 of what appeared to be teenager sized kids running around in those suits, all different colors and they had little performances they would do at each house. It was like free Blue Man Group! Fun! I saw tons off little kids in Hulk costumes last night. I didn’t think Hulk was that current of a trend.

    • I’m guessing the Avengers movie brought the Hulk into vogue. Yeah, that would be cool if the morph kids had an act together. My kids were too busy running to the next house. Rush-rush-rush. Candy! Candy! Candy!

Leave a Reply

There is always one more story to be told...

Writing ate my soul - and I'm perfectly happy with that.


When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Fire and Air

Babblings of interest -- to me, that is

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog


clawing at the keys

P. Emerson Williams

Necrofuturist Art


explorations of mindful fatherhood

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

reluctant writer girl

There is nothing to writing, all you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. - Ernest Hemingway

Beneath the Tin Foil Hat

Speak The Truth, Even If Your Voice Shakes.

"You Jivin' Me, Turkey?"

***"Maybe this World is Another Planet's HELL." - Aldous Huxley***

Is everyone stupid?

Some of my observations and opinions on current events

Literature and Libation

Through it all, your spirit's alive

The abrasive embrace

Thoughts about Thoughtlessness

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Stay Abnormal

Random thoughts and rants from an Abnormal


Rants My Way


Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

An explosion of creative madness

Please take a look at my novel in progress Humanity: The fall and be critical. Thankyou!

Curmudgeon at Large

Short bursts of curmudgeonry on any topic.

Wretched Richard's Almanac

Five minutes here and the rest of your day will seem much more important


A great site

livin' like a freebird

cynical realism for the common man

Bill Boyd - The Literacy Adviser

Learning and Teaching Literacy in the Digital Age

The Quick Brown Fox

My thoughts laid out from A to Z.

Urbannight's Blog

Looking at the world at 40.


For when you wanna go "WTF did I just read?"


laughingstock of the Internet.

Typical Tracy

Memories & Musings of an Average, Middle Aged, Mother of Two

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

The Shut-in Stand-Up

A comedic look at modern life from the perspective of a traumatized but standing up shut-in.


This site is the cat’s pajamas

Mystery of Iniquity

"...doth already work."

Bill McCurry

Fantasy Fiction That Bleeds Laughter

Miss Demure Restraint

Lost I may yet reach my goal . . . Without finding all that I seek . . . I might still be made whole.

Sanctity Rapture I still here? Jesus where are you?

Sky Diaries

Lynn Biederstadt's space about writing. About the journey that writers take. Despite themselves.

Trippin' in Thailand

Another Beautiful Adventure

Randomize ME

Freebies, Deals, Reviews, Music, Books & other random things I like!

The Good Greatsby

The humor blog of Paul Johnson: He doesn't do it for the money. But he wouldn't object if you gave him some.

Gruffguano's Weblog

Just another weblog


The Official Blog of JERK Magazine at Syracuse University

Politics or Poppycock

A Look From the Left At Politics, Politicians, Policies and Issues of National Concern

Deep Thoughts...of a Fragmented Nature

just another day in the life


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

