Eaten by Lions

I had a disturbing dream last night. I was a primitive ancient human, all covered with hair and wearing nothing but a loincloth. The impression that I got was that I was living in someplace temperate. It was cold, but it wasn’t cold all of the time. Maybe it was a forest or something like that. Anyway, in the dream, I was being hunted by a lion. Fortunately, I was already in a cave. Unfortunately, the lion was trying to get into the cave, and the only thing I had to defend myself was a sharp stick.

It’s amazing how effective a sharp stick can be at keeping a lion from coming through a small hole. From the size of the hole, I could tell that there was ample room for the lion to come through, but it would have to wiggle in. It would not be easy, and the lion would be very vulnerable to being poked while he was doing it. This lion kept shoving his paws through and trying to grab me. I stayed back and stabbed at them with the stick. My adrenaline was up. One mistake and I would be cat food, there was no doubt in my mind. I was angry and scared at the same time. Part of me wanted to kill the cat and eat it, and another part of me just wanted to drive it off so that I would be safe. Wherever I was, I was NOT the top of the food chain.

Eventually the lion got really angry and just tried to force his way in anyway, despite me and my stick. As it crawled through, it’s neck was exposed, and I stabbed it with insane strength, driving the sharp stick into the big cat’s trachea. Once I got it through the skin and into the esophagus, I shoved it further into the lion’s lungs. Eventually it choked to death, but not before getting some nasty claw wounds in on my arms and torso. Some other people found me after that. They treated my wounds by packing them with some chewed up leaves and cleaning them in hot water that they heated using rocks. We ate the lion meat.

When I woke up, it got me to thinking about the different attributes primitive people might have looked for in caves. Having a small entrance was definitely an advantage. You can actually hold off a lion if you get the right size. Another advantage primitive people had was medicine. I had never really thought too much about it, but just knowing which leaves to chew up and spit out on somebody elses’s cuts is a big deal. Lion claws are dirty, and you can lose an arm or a leg (or just plain die) even if you kill the lion.

Anyway, after that, I’m staying away from the cheescake before bed.

Leave a Reply

There is always one more story to be told...

Writing ate my soul - and I'm perfectly happy with that.


When will we ever learn?: Common sense and nonsense about today's public schools in America.

She's a Maineiac

just another plaid-wearin' java-sippin' girl

Fire and Air

Babblings of interest -- to me, that is

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog


clawing at the keys

P. Emerson Williams

Necrofuturist Art


explorations of mindful fatherhood

The Consortium of the Curious

For those bemused by the bizarre and engrossed in the esoteric.

reluctant writer girl

There is nothing to writing, all you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed. - Ernest Hemingway

Beneath the Tin Foil Hat

Speak The Truth, Even If Your Voice Shakes.

"You Jivin' Me, Turkey?"

***"Maybe this World is Another Planet's HELL." - Aldous Huxley***

Is everyone stupid?

Some of my observations and opinions on current events

Literature and Libation

Through it all, your spirit's alive

The abrasive embrace

Thoughts about Thoughtlessness

The Jiggly Bits

...because life is funny.

Stay Abnormal

Random thoughts and rants from an Abnormal


Rants My Way


Hikari's Food/Japanophile and Other Interesting Stuff blog

An explosion of creative madness

Please take a look at my novel in progress Humanity: The fall and be critical. Thankyou!

Curmudgeon at Large

Short bursts of curmudgeonry on any topic.

Wretched Richard's Almanac

Five minutes here and the rest of your day will seem much more important


A great site

livin' like a freebird

cynical realism for the common man

Bill Boyd - The Literacy Adviser

Learning and Teaching Literacy in the Digital Age

The Quick Brown Fox

My thoughts laid out from A to Z.

Urbannight's Blog

Looking at the world at 40.


For when you wanna go "WTF did I just read?"


laughingstock of the Internet

Typical Tracy

Memories & Musings of an Average, Middle Aged, Mother of Two

Stuff Kids Write

Like stuff adults write. But funnier.

The Shut-in Stand-Up

A comedic look at modern life from the perspective of a traumatized but standing up shut-in.


This site is the cat’s pajamas

Mystery of Iniquity

"...doth already work."

Bill McCurry

Fantasy Fiction That Bleeds Laughter

Miss Demure Restraint

Lost I may yet reach my goal . . . Without finding all that I seek . . . I might still be made whole.

Sanctity Rapture I still here? Jesus where are you?

Sky Diaries

Lynn Biederstadt's space about writing. About the journey that writers take. Despite themselves.

Trippin' in Thailand

Another Beautiful Adventure

Randomize ME

Freebies, Deals, Reviews, Music, Books & other random things I like!

The Good Greatsby

The humor blog of Paul Johnson: He doesn't do it for the money. But he wouldn't object if you gave him some.

Gruffguano's Weblog

Just another weblog


The Official Blog of JERK Magazine at Syracuse University

Politics or Poppycock

A Look From the Left At Politics, Politicians, Policies and Issues of National Concern

Deep Thoughts...of a Fragmented Nature

just another day in the life


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 470 other followers

